Here is the list for 2005, not a lot of surprises here. They seem to be playing it safe with quite a few already succesful books that really don’t need that extra push *shrug*

Cloud Atlas
David Mitchell
In his extraordinary third novel, David Mitchell erases the boundaries of language, genre and time to offer a meditation on humanity’s dangerous will to power, and where it may lead us.

The Time Traveler’s Wife
Audrey Niffenegger
The Time Traveler’s Wife depicts the effects of time travel on Henry and Clare’s passionate love for each other with grace and humour.

My Sister’s Keeper
Jodi Picoult
“A major decision about me is being made, and no one’s bothered to ask the one person who most deserves it to speak her opinion.”

Perdita: The Life of Mary Robinson
Paula Byrne
Sex, fame and scandal in the theatrical, literary and social circles of late-eighteenth century England.

The Promise of Happiness
Justin Cartwright
Charles Judd meanders round his local Cornish beach, contemplating the turns his life has taken.

The American Boy
Andrew Taylor
Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession.

Feel: Robbie Williams
Chris Heath
This is a groundbreaking book; truly original and brilliantly written; a grippingly honest story of an extraordinary man.

The Sixth Lamentation
William Brodrick
‘Brodrick keeps the story going at a cracking pace, flitting back and forth between its various elements, characters and eras with timing so expert the reader is compelled to keep turning the pages’
Time Out

The Jane Austen Book Club
Karen Joy Fowler
A charming and intelligent bestselling novel about ordinary people who are mixed up about their lives and relationships.

The Shadow of the Wind
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
A page-turning exploration of obsession in literature and love, and the places that obsession can lead.