Nebula Awards Winners

Winners of this year’s Nebula Awards, presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, were announced this evening, Saturday May 12, 2007, in New York City.

Seeker, Jack McDevitt (Ace Books)

Burn, James Patrick Kelly (Tachyon Publications)

“Two Hearts”, Peter S. Beagle (F&SF Oct/Nov 2005)

“Echo”, Elizabeth Hand (F&SF Oct/Nov 2005)

Howl’s Moving Castle, Hayao Miyazaki, Cindy Davis Hewitt, and Donald H. Hewitt

Magic or Madness, Justine Larbalestier (Razorbill)

As previously announced, James Gunn was presented the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, and D.G. Compton was named Author Emeritus. Ronald D. Moore was Toastmaster. The SFWA Service Award was presented to Brook and Julia West.
These are first Nebula Award wins for Jack McDevitt, James Patrick Kelly, and Peter S. Beagle. McDevitt and Kelly had more nominations than any other living writers, 11 and 10 respectively (with the late Avram Davidson also at 10), before winning this year, while Beagle won with his first ever nomination. (Beagle’s story also won a Hugo Award last year.) Elizabeth Hand had one earlier nomination and win, for novella “Last Summer at Mars Hill” in 1996.

This is the second year of SFWA’s Andre Norton Award, created to honor young adult SF/F novels and named in honor of the late SFWA Grand Master. While not technically a Nebula Award, it is voted on by members in the same way the Nebula Awards are. Last year’s winner was Holly Black’s Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie.