The Edgar Allan Poe Awards® (the “Edgars®”) are named after MWA’s
patron saint, Edgar Allan Poe, and are awarded to authors of
distinguished work in various categories of the genre.

Best Novel Awards

The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly
Red Leaves by Thomas H Cook
Drama City by George Pelecanos
Vanish by Tess Gerritsen
Citizen Vince by Jess Walter (winner)

Out of the Deep I Cry by Julia Spencer-Fleming
By a Spider’s Thread by Laura Lippman
Remembering Sarah by Chris Mooney
Evan’s Gate by Rhys Bowen
California Girl by T Jefferson Parker (winner)

The Guards by Ken Bruen
Out by Natsuo Kirino
Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear
Resurrection Men by Ian Rankin (winner)

Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews
No Good Deed by Manda Scott
City Of Bones by Michael Connelly
Jolie Blon’s Bounce by James Lee Burke
Winter And Night by S J Rozan (winner)

Reflecting the Sky by S J Rozan
Money, Money, Money by Ed McBain
The Judgment by D W Buffa
Tell No One by Harlan Coben
Silent Joe by T Jefferson Parker (winner)

A Place of Execution by Val McDermid
A Dangerous Road by Kris Nelscott
The Whole Truth by Nancy Pickard
Red Light by T Jefferson Parker
The Bottoms by Joe R Lansdale (winner)

River Of Darkness by Rennie Airth
Strawberry Sunday by Stephen Greenleaf
L. A. Requiem by Robert Crais
In a Dry Season by Peter Robinson
Bones by Jan Burke (winner)

Blood Work by Michael Connelly
Beyond Recall by Robert Goddard
The Last Days of Il Duce by Domenic Stansberry
A Likeness in Stone by Julia Wallis Martin
Mr. White’s Confession by Robert Clark (winner)

Dreaming of the Bones by Deborah Crombie
A Wasteland of Strangers by Bill Pronzini
Black And Blue by Ian Rankin
The Purification Ceremony by Mark T Sullivan
Cimarron Rose by James Lee Burke (winner)

With Child by Laurie R King
Pentecost Alley by Anne Perry
Hearts and Bones by Margaret Lawrence
Mean Streak by Carolyn Wheat
The Chatham School Affair by Thomas H Cook (winner)

The Bookman’s Wake by John Dunning
The Shadow Man by John Katzenbach
The Roaring Boy by Edward Marston
The Summons by Peter Lovesey
Come to Grief by Dick Francis (winner)

Lights Out by Peter Abrahams
A Long Line of Dead Men by Lawrence Block
Wednesday’s Child by Peter Robinson
Miami, It’s Murder by Edna Buchanan
The Red Scream by Mary Willis Walker (winner)

Free Fall by Robert Crais
The Journeyman Tailor by Gerald Seymour
Wolf in the Shadows by Marcia Muller
Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow by Peter Høeg
The Sculptress by Minette Walters (winner)

White Butterfly by Walter Mosley
Pomona Queen by Kem Nunn
32 Cadillacs by Joe Gores
Backhand by Liza Cody
Bootlegger’s Daughter by Margaret Maron (winner)

Don’t Say a Word by Andrew Klavan
Palindrome by Stuart Woods
Prior Convictions by Lia Matera
I.O.U. by Nancy Pickard
A Dance at the Slaughterhouse by Lawrence Block (winner)

Fade The Heat by Jay Brandon
Whiskey River by Loren D Estleman
Bones and Silence by Reginald Hill
Deadfall in Berlin by R D Zimmerman
New Orleans Mourning by Julie Smith (winner)

The Death of A Joyce Scholar by Bartholomew Gill
A Question of Guilt by Frances Fyfield
Goldilocks by Andrew Coburn
The Booster by Eugene Izzi
Black Cherry Blues by James Lee Burke (winner)

A Thief of Time by Tony Hillerman
In the Lake of the Moon by David Lindsey
Sacrificial Ground by Thomas H Cook
Joey’s Case by K C Constantine
A Cold Red Sunrise by Stuart M Kaminsky (winner)

A Trouble Of Fools by Linda Barnes
Nursery Crimes by B M Gill
The Corpse in Oozak’s Pond by Charlotte MacLeod
Rough Cider by Peter Lovesey
Old Bones by Aaron Elkins (winner)

Come Morning by Joe Gores
The Straight Man by Roger L Simon
A Taste for Death by P D James
Charlie Muffin and Russian Rose by Brian Freemantle
A Dark Adapted Eye by Barbara Vine (winner)

An Unkindness of Ravens by Ruth Rendell
The Tree of Hands by Ruth Rendell
A Shock to the System by Simon Brett
City of Glass by Paul Auster
The Suspect by L R Wright (winner)

The Black Seraphim by Michael Gilbert
Twelfth Juror by B M Gill
Emily Dickinson Is Dead by Jane Langton
Chessplayer by William Pearson
Briarpatch by Ross Thomas (winner)

The Papers of Tony Veitch by William McIlvanney
Texas Station by Christopher Leach
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
The Little Drummer Girl by John Le Carré
La Brava by Elmore Leonard (winner)

Billingsgate Shoal by Rick Boyer (winner)

Peregrine by William Bayer (winner)

Whip Hand by Dick Francis (winner)

Rheingold Route by Arthur Maling (winner)

The Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett (winner)

Catch Me: Kill Me by William H Hallahan (winner)

Promised Land by Robert B Parker (winner)

Hopscotch by Brian Garfield (winner)

Peter’s Pence by Jon Cleary (winner)

Dance Hall of the Dead by Tony Hillerman (winner)

The Lingala Code by Warren Kiefer (winner)

The Day of the Jackal by Frederick Forsyth (winner)

The Laughing Policeman by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö (winner)

Forfeit by Dick Francis (winner)